Phone: 337-217-4570

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Bachelor of Arts in Education - McNeese State University

Mrs. Jessi Foreman

Welcome to the 6th Grade!

 

We are going to have a great 23-24 school year!

 

 

Teacher contact information:

Feel free to contact me at jessi.foreman@cpsb.org

Please allow up to 48 hours for a response.

  • Monday, March 4 - If Stones Could Speak - Lesson 15 cont'd - Tracing the theories of Stonehenge

    Tuesday, March 5 - If Stones Could Speak Lesson 16 - Answering text dependent questions with text evidence.

    Wednesday, March 6 - If Stones Could Speak Lesson 17 - Citing Text Evidence

    Thursday, March 7 - If Stones Could Speak Section 4-6 Section Quiz, Cold Read Test Part 1

    Friday, March 8 - If Stones Could Speak Cold Read Test Part 2

    Comments (-1)
  • Monday - Feb. 26

    If Stones Could Speak Lesson 12 - Determining the Central Idea - Read Ch. 1

    Students will also be researching the various theories of Stonehenge. Students will present their response in RACES format on Friday 

    Tues. 2/27 - If Stones Could Speak Lesson 13 - Integrating Information Read Ch.2 - Describe how Stonehenge was designed.

    Wed. 2/28 - If Stones Could Speak Lesson 14 - Who is Ramilisonina? Read chapters 3-4 and Summarize

    Thurs. 2/29 - If Stones Could Speak Lesson 15 - Read and summarize Ch.5 workbook pg. 14

    Fri. March 1 - Students will present their theories on Stonehenge from their research

    I

    Comments (-1)
  • Feb. 19 - Monday - If Stones Could Speak - Lesson 8 - "My First Advensture" view clip to identify situations that are realistic and unrealistic based on our past observations.

    Feb. 20 - Tuesday - If Stones Could Speak Lesson 9 - Identify Claim and Evidence - Complete evidence chart workbook pg. 12

    Feb. 21 - Wednesday - "How Has Archaeology Changed? Complete T-chart explaining how archaeology has changed over the years.

    Feb. 22 - Thursday - If Stones Could Speak Lesson 11 - Compare and Contrast the two texts and summarize information from your H-chart

    Feb. 23- Friday - If Stones Could Speak Section 3 Quiz and CER question

    "How has Archaeology Changed Over the Years?"

    Comments (-1)
  • Feb. 5 - 9, 2024

    Monday, Feb. 5 - If Stones Could Speak Lessons 1-2 TP Cast workbook pg.7

    Tuesday - If Stones Could Speak - Lesson 3 - RACES Question - What is the theme of the poem "Travel"? Complete for homework if not finished in class

    Wednesday - If Stones Could Speak - Lesson 4 - Read the Introduction to Archeology

    Thursday - If Stones Could Speak - Lesson 5 - Workbook pg. 8

    Friday - If Stones Could Speak - Lesson 6 - Archeology in Action

    Comments (-1)
  • Jan. 29 - Feb. 2, 2024

    Monday - Extension Task Presentations

    Tuesday - RACES Writing Review - Making corrections and answering "What is one character trait to describe the person I chose to research?"

    Wednesday - Exploring our new book-

    If Stones Could Speak - Scavenger Hunt

    Thursday - Archeology Discussion on Stonehenge

    Friday - Review Scavenger Hunt Results

    Comments (-1)
  • Jan. 22 - 26, 2024

    Monday - Steve Jobs - Lesson 37 -Extension Task- Complete Structure Handout page/Begin writing speech on looseleaf

    Tues. - Steve Jobs Lesson 38 - Finish speech and Begin PowerPoint (7 slides)

    Wed. - No School - Weather Day

    Thursday -  Finish speech on looseleaf and finish PowerPoint

    Friday - Presentations for Extension Task

    Comments (-1)
  • Jan. 15 - 19, 2024

     

    Monday, Jan. 15- No school - MLK Day

    Tues. - No School- Weather Day

    Wed. - No School - Weather Day

    Thurs. - Finish CWT - Correct Mistakes

    Fri - Finish CWT - Correct Mistakes

     

    Comments (-1)
    • Monday January 8: We will complete lesson 31 of Steve Jobs: Identifying claim and evidence for CWT. 

      Tuesday January 9: We will complete lesson 32 of Steve Jobs: Completing the graphic organizer.  

    • Wednesday January 10: We will complete lesson 33 of Steve Jobs: Writing a first draft.

    • Thursday January 11: We will complete lesson 34 of Steve Jobs: Edit  Draft.  check spelling, grammar, punctuation, word choice, and more. 

      Friday January 12: We will complete lesson 35 of Steve Jobs: Complete final draft.

    Comments (-1)
  • Dec. 11-15, 2023

    Monday - Steve Jobs - Lesson 24 - Casey at the Bat - Workbook pgs. 56-57

    Tuesday - Steve Jobs - Lesson 25 - Casey at the Bat - Figurative Language, Workbook pg. 58

    Wednesday - Steve Jobs - Lesson 26 - David and Goliath Workbook pg. 59

    Thursday - Cold Read Task part 1

    Friday - Cold Read Task part 2

    Comments (-1)
  • Dec. 4- 8, 2023

    Monday, Dec. 4 - Cold Read Test - Milton Hershey essay

    Tuesday, Dec. 5 - Cold Read Test - Multiple Choice - Milton Hershey

    Wednesday - Cold Read Test Cont'd

    Thursday - Creative Narrative Writing Game- Two Truths and a Lie

    Friday - Creative Writing Assignment

    Comments (-1)
  • Monday - Nov. 27 - Steve Jobs Lesson 14 - Prepare for debate

    Tuesday - Nov. 28 - Narrative Writing Review - Section 3 Quiz

    Wednesday - Nov. 29- Two Truths and a Lie Creative Writing Game Day!

    Thursday - Nov. 30 - Two Truths and a Lie Creative Writing Game day cont'd

    Friday - Dec. 1 - Cold Read Test - Milton Hershey

    Comments (-1)
  • Monday Nov. 13- Begin Creative Narrative Writing Unit- Students will be required to write one "Truth" narrative according to the SSCCDDL method

    Tuesday - Nov. 14 -Day 2 - Creative Narrative Writing Unit- Students will write their 2nd "Truth" narrative

    Wednesday - Nov. 15-Day 3 - Creative Narrative Writing Unit - Students will write their narrative that is not true.  Giving students the creative freedom to write a story that isn't true, but using enough descriptive details that the class will not know the difference.

    Thursday - No. 16 -Lesson 10 -11 for Steve Jobs: Summarizing Letters to Wilbur Wright: Identifying Claim, evidence and reasoning for Letters to Wilbur.  

    Friday - Nov. 17 -Lesson 12-13 of Steve Jobs: Analyzing Wilbur Wright's Character Development. Analyze the purpose of writing for Wilbur's Letter. 

    Comments (-1)
  • Monday November 6:  Lesson 5 for Steve Jobs: Supporting claims with evidence and reasoning.

    Tuesday November 7: Lesson 6 of Steve Jobs: Identifying Central Idea. 

    Wednesday November 8: Lesson 7 of Steve Jobs: Analyzing Poetry- "To Failure."

    Thursday November 9: Lesson 8 of Steve Jobs: Analyzing More Poetry- "Mother to Son."

    Friday November 10: No School!

    Comments (-1)
  • Monday, Oct. 30 - Students will be completing their PowerPoint presentations and completing their Cold Read Tests.

    Tuesday, Oct. 31 - We will be starting our new unit, Steve Jobs - Lesson 1

    Wednesday, Nov. 1 - Steve Jobs Lesson 2

    Thursday, Nov. 2 - Steve Jobs Lesson 3

    Friday, Nov. 3 - Steve Jobs Lesson 4

    Comments (-1)
    • October 23- 27

      Monday October 23: We will do Lesson 36 of our Hatchet Unit. We will learn how to build a bibliography page to cite our research sources. Students will complete their presentations for tomorrow.

    •  

      Tuesday October 24: We will begin our PowerPoint presentations for our real-life survival situations.

    •  

      Wednesday October 25: We will finish our PowerPoint presentations today and turn in all documents associated with it..

      Thursday October 26: We will finish part 1 of our Cold Read Test today.  

      Friday October 27: We will finish part 2 of our Cold Read Test today.

    Grades due this week:

    • Extention Task Packet (1 grade)
    • PowerPoint Presentation (1 grade)
    • Oral Presentation (1 grade- should be an easy A)
    • Cold Read Grade (Pt.1 &2 combined)
    Comments (-1)
  • Monday October 16: Lesson 32 of our Hatchet Unit. We will read "Your Story: Are You a Survivor?" and students will finalize their choice of which person or group they will research. With any leftover time, students will use their laptops to begin researching their events.

    Tuesday October 17: Lesson 33 of our Hatchet Unit. Today is all about research! Students will research their topic and collect all the information they can about their subject and record it on their packet. Near the end of class, partners will get together and meet about what they found.

    Wednesday October 18: Lesson 34 of our Hatchet Unit. Today we will talk about credible sources. How to identify credible sources. Students will evaluate the credibility of the sites they have already researched and continue to conduct more research.

    Thursday October 19: Half Day today! Due to SHHS Homecoming Parade, I will only see two of my classes. The two classes that I see will continue their research.

    Friday October 20:  Lesson 35 of our Hatchet Unit. Today we will look at what a multimedia presentation looks like (setting the expectation). We will talk about the rubric and how they will be graded. Students will have the opportunity to add other things that they would like to be graded on as well (like including facts about their life before the event). Students will work in their partner groups to create a multimedia presentation to teach the class next week. 

    Comments (-1)
  • Monday October 9: Teacher in-service.

    Tuesday October 10:  Lesson 28 of our Hatchet Unit finishing final essay drafts.

    Wednesday October 11: Lesson 29 of our Hatchet Unit which is the typing and submitting the final draft. 

    Thursday October 12: SLT testing.

    Friday October 13: Completing SLT and CWT 

    Comments (-1)
  • Monday October 2: Lesson 25 of our Hatchet Unit and complete the CWT Rough Draft Packet.

    Tuesday October 3:  Lesson 26 of our Hatchet Unit and begin our rough draft essay.

    Wednesday October 4:  Lesson 27 of our Hatchet Unit and finish our rough draft essay.

    Comments (-1)
  • Monday - Sept. 25 - Hatchet - Lesson 22

    Tuesday - Sept. 26 - Hatchet - Lesson 23

    Wednesday - Sept. 27 - Section 8 Quiz - Begin narrative Essay

    Thursday - Ch. 11 Epilogue Hatchet Test - After test work on Narrative assignment

    Friday - Hatchet - Lesson 24 - CWT - Culminating Writing Task - Assignment will count as 2 grades and must be in the RACES/CER format.  Take your time and follow all directions.

     

    Comments (-1)
  • Monday - Hatchet - Lesson 17 - Read chapters 13-14

    Tuesday- Hatchet - Lesson 18 - Students workbook pg. 85

    Wednesday - Hatchet - Lesson 19 - Read Ch. 16 - Discuss how Paulsen uses Memory Moments to develop theme

    Thursday - Hatchet Lesson 20- Read Ch. 17-Discuss ways that Brian shows he's learned lessons about his approach to survival.

    Friday - Hatchet - Lesson 21 Read Ch. 18

    Comments (-1)
  • Sept. 11-15, 2023

    Monday - Hatchet Lesson 12 - Purple journal pg. 86

    Tuesday - Hatchet Lesson 13

    Wednesday - Hatchet Lesson 14

    Thursday - Hatchet Lesson 15

    Friday - Hatchet Lesson 16

    Comments (-1)
  • September 5-8, 2023

    Monday - No School - Labor Day!

    Tuesday - Sept. 5 - Hatchet - Lesson 9,

    Notebook pgs. 73 & 84

    Wednesday - Sept. 6 - Hatchet - Section 3 Quiz

    Thursday - Sept. 7 - Hatchet Lesson 10 - Read Chapter 7 Notebook Pg. 73 (box 3)

    Friday - Sept. 8 - Hatchet Lesson 11

    Comments (-1)
    • Monday - Happy Labor Day!

      Tuesday - Steve Jobs story 2 test. & lessons 10 & 13 discussing Steve Jobs and POV

      Wednesday -   Lesson 11 - evidence to support a claim and lesson 12 - analyze character

      Thursday - "Mother to Son" poetry quiz (includes figurative language) and irony; Lesson 14 - Preparing for Discussion 

      Friday - Learnzillion section 3 quiz; Steve Jobs section 3 Wilbur Wright quiz; Canvas discussion: "Would Wilbur Wright agree with Steve Jobs to 'Stay hungry, stay foolish?"

    Comments (-1)