Welcome to Mrs. Hathaway's Class!

  • Find our weekly class agendas here:

  • Weekly Agenda 3/25/24 - 3/29/24:

    Monday 3/25/24:

    • Behind the Scenes Lesson 14
      • Summary will be checked for HW GRADE TOMORROW!

    Tuesday 3/26/24:

    • Lesson 14 Summary checked for HW GRADE!
    • Behind the Scenes Lesson 15

    Wednesday 3/27/24:

    • Behind the Scenes Lesson 16
      • Begin Canvas graded assignment pertaining to lesson 16 & 17

    Thursday 3/28/24:

    • Behind the Scenes Lesson 17
      • FINISH & SUBMIT Canvas graded assignment pertaining to lesson 16 & 17

    Friday 3/29/24:

    • GOOD FRIDAY! No school. Enjoy your Spring Break!
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 3/18/24 - 3/22/24:

    Monday 3/18/24:

    • Behind the Scenes Lesson 12

    Tuesday 3/19/24:

    • Behind the Scenes Lesson 13, Part 1

    Wednesday 3/20/24:

    • Behind the Scenes Lesson 13, Part 2
      • Complete BTS Lesson 13 assignment on Canvas (for a GRADE)
      • See separate Canvas announcement for Blooket quiz review (Section 2 Quiz TOMORROW)

    Thursday 3/21/24:

    • Behind the Scenes Section 2 QUIZ

    Friday 3/22/24:

    • Go over Section 2 Quiz
    • LEAP RTI in iReady/Quill
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 3/11/24 - 3/15/24:

    Monday 3/11/24:

    • NO SCHOOL - Teacher In-service

    Tuesday 3/12/24:

    • 3rd Nine Weeks AR DUE!
    • Digital Citizenship Day (to prepare for LEAP Testing)
    • Flocabulary Lesson on Similes & Metaphors

    Wednesday 3/13/24:

    • 3rd Nine Weeks ENDS! Report cards issued Monday.
    • Behind the Scenes Lesson 10

    Thursday 3/14/24:

    • LIBRARY DAY!
    • LEAP RTI (iReady and Quill)

    Friday 3/15/24:

    • Behind the Scenes Lesson 11
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 3/4/24 - 3/8/24:

    Monday 3/4/24:

    • Behind the Scenes Lesson 7, part 2 (Canvas lesson DUE TODAY for a GRADE)
     
    Tuesday 3/5/24:
     
    • Behind the Scenes Lesson 8
     
    Wednesday 3/6/24:
     
    • Behind the Scenes Lesson 9
     
    Thursday 3/7/24:
     
    • SLT2 Post-test in Edulastic
     
    Friday 3/8/24:
     
    • Finish SLT2 Post-test in Edulastic
    • LEAP RTI and AR
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 2/26/24 - 3/1/24:

    Monday 2/26/24:

    • Behind the Scenes Lesson 5

    Tuesday 2/27/24:

    • Behind the Scenes Lesson 6
    • See Canvas announcement for Blooket review for homework (Section 1 QUIZ tomorrow)

    Wednesday 2/28/24:

    • Behind the Scenes Section 1 QUIZ
    • Read AR afterwards or do make-up work

    Thursday 2/29/24:

    • Blooket review
    • The People Could Fly QUIZ
    • Read AR or do make-up work

    Friday 3/1/24:

    • Behind the Scenes Lesson 7, Part 1
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 2/19/24 - 2/23/24:

    Monday 2/19/24:

    • Behind the Scenes Lesson 1

    Tuesday 2/20/24:

    • Behind the Scenes Lesson 2

    Wednesday 2/21/24 (Mrs. Hathaway’s birthday & Lake Area Adventures trip during 5th & 6th hour):

    • Flocabulary Lesson on “Figurative Language”
    • Go over Written in Bone Cold Read Task

    Thursday 2/22/24:

    • Behind the Scenes Lesson 3

    Friday 2/23/24:

    • Behind the Scenes Lesson 4
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 2/12/24 - 2/16/24:

    Monday 2/12/24:

    • NO SCHOOL! Mardi Gras Break!

    Tuesday 2/13/24:

    • NO SCHOOL! Mardi Gras Break!

    Wednesday 2/14/24:

    • NO SCHOOL! Mardi Gras Break & Valentine's Day!

    Thursday 2/15/24:

    • SLT 1 (research simulation) post-test

    Friday 2/16/24:

    • Finish SLT 1 (research simulation) post-test 
    • Go over WIB cold read task & LEAP RTI
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 2/5/24 - 2/9/24:

    Monday 2/5/24:

    • Finish typing essay body paragraph 2
    • Draft essay conclusion 
    • FINAL peer edit & review
    • Type conclusion & SUBMIT final essay

    Tuesday 2/6/24:

    • LIBRARY DAY!
    • Make up day for essays

    Wednesday 2/7/24:

    • Written in Bone Cold Read Task, part 1 (FOR A GRADE)

    Thursday 2/8/24:

    • Written in Bone Cold Read Task, part 2 (turn in FOR A GRADE)

    Friday 2/9/24:

    • Receive Behind the Scenes materials (new unit)
    • ”Setting the Context” videos with handout for Behind the Scenes unit
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 1/29/24 - 2/2/24:

    Monday 1/29/24:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 28

    Tuesday 1/30/24:

    • Take notes on Written in Bone central ideas, how the author develops them, & gather text evidence.
    • Work on graphic organizer for essay/culminating writing task.

    Wednesday 1/31/24:

    • Essay rough draft - introduction

    Thursday 2/1/24:

    • Essay rough draft - body paragraph 1

    Friday 2/2/24:

    • Essay rough draft - body paragraph 2
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 1/22/24 - 1/26/24:

    Monday 1/22/24:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 23

    Tuesday 1/23/24:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 24

    Wednesday 1/24/24:

    • NO SCHOOL due to inclement weather

    Thursday 1/25/24:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 25, part 1
      • begin Jigsaw worksheet 

    Friday 1/26/24:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 25, part 2
      • finish Jigsaw worksheet 

    *We will start on the Written in Bone culminating writing task (essay) on Tuesday!*

    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 1/15/24 - 1/19/24

    Monday 1/15/24:

    • NO SCHOOL - MLK Day

    Tuesday 1/16/24:

    • NO SCHOOL - Inclement/freezing weather

    Wednesday 1/17/24:

    • NO SCHOOL due to inclement weather

    Thursday 1/18/24:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 21
    • See announcements in Canvas to play Blooket review for QUIZ TOMORROW

    Friday 1/19/24:

    • Written in Bone Section 6 QUIZ in Clever - ILC
    • Take Blood on the River AR Reading Test
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 1/8/24 - 1/12/24:

    Monday 1/8/24:

    • iReady Testing until 9:05
    • Written in Bone Lesson 19, Part 1

    Tuesday 1/9/24:

    • iReady Testing until 9:05
    • Library Day!
    • *1st hour ONLY: read ch. 23 of Blood on the River*

    Wednesday 1/10/24:

    • iReady Testing until 9:05
    • Written in Bone Lesson 19, Part 2

    Thursday 1/11/24:

    • POV Chart Assignment FOR A GRADE! Found in Canvas under "WIB lesson 18 POV assessment."
    • Play Blooket & take QUIZ on Blood on the River 

    Friday 1/12/24:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 20
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 1/1/24 - 1/5/24:

    Monday 1/1/24:

    • NO SCHOOL

    Tuesday 1/2/24:

    • NO SCHOOL

    Wednesday 1/3/24:

    • NO SCHOOL - Teacher Inservice

    Thursday 1/4/24:

    • Read Blood on the River chapters 18-20
    • 2nd Nine Weeks ENDS!

    Friday 1/5/24:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 18
    Comments (-1)
  • Monday Agenda & Missing Work DUE!

    Monday 12/18/23:
    • Make up any missing work 
    • AR Day
    *PARENTS: Please ensure that your student comes to school tomorrow if they are missing any work (look for any 0X in the gradebook). 2nd nine weeks grades are due the day we return from break, so tomorrow is the last opportunity to turn in missing work. AR grades will be put in the day we return from break when grades are due (in case any students need to read over the break). 
     
    Tuesday 12/19/23 - Wednesday 1/3/24:
    • NO SCHOOL - Christmas Break
    MERRY CHRISTMAS! 
     
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 12/11/23 - 12/15/23:

    Monday 12/11/23:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 14
    • HOMEWORK: Read Blood on the River ch. 13 & write down 3 instances of setting influencing Samuel, & 3 instances of characters influencing Samuel.

    Tuesday 12/12/23:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 15
    • HOMEWORK: finish debate prep handout

    Wednesday 12/13/23:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 16 
      • this is a DEBATE and it is for a GRADE!

    Thursday 12/14/23:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 17
    • HOMEWORK: finish one subject notebook response & do BLOOKET to study for QUIZ TOMORROW (create free account with CPSB email, search "Written in Bone Section 5 Quiz," and do 13 questions by JenniferSemmes or 21 questions by rhhebert).

    Friday 12/15/23:

    • Written in Bone Section 5 QUIZ
    • Read AR/take AR tests/go to library
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 12/4/23 - 12/8/23:

    Monday 12/4/23:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 10

    Tuesday 12/5/23:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 11

    Wednesday 12/6/23:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 12
    • HOMEWORK: Study for WIB Section 4 QUIZ TOMORROW in Blooket (search "Written in Bone Section 4 Quiz")

    Thursday 12/7/23:

    • Library Day
    • Written in Bone Section 4 QUIZ

    Friday 12/8/23 (Holly Jolly Christmas Dance at school 6:00pm-8:30pm):

    • Written in Bone Lesson 13
    • HOMEWORK: Read ch. 10 Blood on the River & write down 3 instances of setting impacting Samuel & 3 instances of other characters influencing Samuel in one subject notebook)
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 11/27/23 - 12/1/23:

    Monday 11/27/23:

    • LEAP RTI Day (Common Lit & Flocabulary assignments)

    Tuesday 11/28/23:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 7, Part 1

    Wednesday 11/29/23:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 7, Part 2

    Thursday 11/30/23:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 8

    Friday 12/1/23:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 9
      • Lesson worksheet will be due at the end of class FOR A GRADE!
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 11/13/23 - 11/17/23:

    Monday 11/13/23:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 5, Part 1

    Tuesday 11/14/23 (Digital Day Schedule):

    • Library Day
    • Text Features QUIZ

    Wednesday 11/15/23:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 5, Part 2

    Thursday 11/16/23: 

    • Written in Bone Lesson 6

    Friday 11/17/23:

    • Written in Bone Section 1&2 QUIZ (ILC through Clever)
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 11/6/23 - 11/10/23:

    Monday 11/6/23:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 2, Part 2
      • Lesson handout due at the end of class for a GRADE!

    Tuesday 11/7/23:

    • Written in Bone Lesson 3

    Wednesday 11/8/23 (modified schedule for Veteran's Day Program):

    • LEAP RTI Day
      • Common Lit Reading Assessment

    Thursday 11/9/23:

    • Finish Common Lit Reading Assessment
    • Read AR/take AR tests/visit Library

    Friday 11/10/23:

    • NO SCHOOL! Veterans' Day observed.
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 10/30/23 - 11/3/23:

    Monday 10/30/23:
    • Library Day!
    • Read Blood on the River  ch. 5-6
    Tuesday 10/31/23: Happy Halloween!
    • Read Blood on the River ch. 7-8
    • Complete reading log for homework check 
    Wednesday 11/1/23:
    • B.O.R. ch. 7-8 log checked for homework grade!
    • Lesson on Text Features & Author Craft Moves
    • Accompanying handout 
    Thursday 11/2/23:
    • Written in Bone unit Lesson 1
    Friday 11/3/23:
    • Written in Bone unit Lesson 2, Part 1
     
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 10/23/23 - 10/27/23:

    Monday 10/23/23:

    • FINISH typing final draft of Giver essay; turn in at the end of class for a GRADE
    • Read AR if finish early

    Tuesday 10/24/23 (Book Fair in library):

    • The Giver Cold Read Task post-test (for a GRADE)

    Wednesday 10/25/23 (Grandparents' Day at Book Fair):

    • Receive Written in Bone unit materials
    • Read Blood on the River ch. 1-2
      • Complete reading log (due for HOMEWORK GRADE)

    Thursday 10/26/23 (Book Fair in library):

    • Read Blood on the River ch. 3-4
      • Complete reading log (due for HOMEWORK GRADE)

    Friday 10/27/23 (Pep Rally schedule):

    • Written in Bone unit Setting the Context Videos with worksheet
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 10/16/23-10/20/23:

    Monday 10/16/23:

    • The Giver Lesson 32

    Tuesday 10/17/23:

    • ”Examination Day” assignment on Common Lit

    Wednesday 10/18/23:

    • Start Giver culminating writing task/essay rough draft

    Thursday 10/19/23:

    • Finish Giver culminating writing task/essay rough draft

    Friday 10/20/23:

    • Peer edit & revise
    • Start typing final draft of essay (due at the end of class MONDAY)
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 10/9/23 - 10/13/23:

    Monday 10/9/23:

    • NO SCHOOL!

    Tuesday 10/10/23:

    • The Giver Lesson 29

    Wednesday 10/11/23:

    • The Giver Lesson 30

    Thursday 10/12/23:

    • The Giver Section 7 QUIZ
    • Read AR/take AR tests

    Friday 10/13/23:

    • The Giver Lesson 31
    • AR DUE for nine weeks GRADE!
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 10/2/23 - 10/6/23:

    Monday 10/2/23:

    • Ch. 20-21 reading log checked for HW grade!
    • The Giver Section 6 QUIZ
    • Read The Giver chapter 22

    Tuesday 10/3/23:

    • SLT 2 Pre-test via Edulastic
    • Read The Giver chapter 23

    Wednesday 10/4/23:

    • The Giver Lesson 28

    Thursday 10/5/23:

    • NO SCHOOL! Fall Break!

    Friday 10/6/23:

    • NO SCHOOL! Fall Break!
    Comments (-1)
  • Weekly Agenda 9/25/23 - 9/29/23:

    Monday 9/25/23:

    • The Giver Lesson 24

    Tuesday 9/26/23:

    • The Giver Lesson 25

    Wednesday 9/27/23:

    • The Giver Lesson 26

    Thursday 9/28/23:

    • 7th Grade field trip to Chem Expo
    • AR Reading/AR Tests/Make-up Day

    Friday 9/29/23:

    • The Giver Lesson 27
      • HOMEWORK: Read The Giver chapters 20-21 and do a reading log (5 events/details from each chapter in your own words {10 total}; include page #s for each event/detail; include one question you have or a prediction).
        • Will be checked MONDAY as part of homework grade!
    Comments (-1)